Their Love

Untitled

They were drunk
but not so much.
They gasped
at a soft touch.
They lay there
entwined.
Seeking love
they would find.
Kissed
and caressed.
Feelings
confessed.
Two men
together,
two men
forever.

This has grown out of the wonder of what love is and knowing that love is not something unique to a man and a woman. This is not about sex, this is simply about how love can be something that unites. Whether we speak of love as a species, a nation, a neighbour, a friend or a partner, why should one love mean anything different? Regardless of sexual preference, love simply is. It has no constraint, it has no guide, it is an emotion and it will do what it will. So never judge love, just glory in its existence and be grateful we all share the capacity for it.

It says a lot that I felt the need to explain; not so much to anyone reading, but for myself. In a world without prejudice, I could simply post the poem. In this world, I feel the need to justify myself and say “This is not my life, this is not who I am. I am merely a commentator on other’s loves.” That I feel that need shows to me how much more I must try to be the tolerant and unprejudiced person I imagine myself as. Maybe I have further to go than I thought.

6 thoughts on “Their Love

    • Ak Kym, that says more about you than my poem 😀 Not so much being hard on myself, more acknowledging my own failings. But then, I try, and that is what matters in the end.

      Like

Leave a Reply

